RSS

TIMOTHY LEARY-PSYCHEDELIC DRUGS DURING THE 1960s AND DRUGS TODAY

28 Mar

image

Born on October 22, 1920, in Springfield, Massachusetts,

Timothy Leary

forged a career as a noted psychology professor and researcher before becoming a major, highly controversial advocate of

psychedelic drugs during the 1960s.

He was imprisoned on marijuana charges, yet escaped only to be caught. He later worked in entertainment and cybernetics and published many books. He died on May 31, 1996.

Background and Early Career

Timothy Leary was born on October 22, 1920, in Springfield, Massachusetts, into an Irish-Catholic household. He went on to attend several schools before graduating from the University of Alabama in 1943 and earning a psychology doctorate in 1950 from the University of California at Berkeley.

Read more…:
http://www.biography.com/people/timothy-leary-37330

NEITHER WILL WE EVER FORGET CHARLES MANSON!!!

image

THE TRUTH ABOUT LSD

Albert Hofmann
Photo credit: The Albert Hofmann Foundation

Albert Hofmann, a chemist working for Sandoz Pharmaceutical, synthesized1 LSD for the first time in 1938, in Basel, Switzerland, while looking for a blood stimulant. However, its hallucinogenic effects were unknown until 1943 when Hofmann accidentally consumed some LSD. It was later found that an oral dose of as little as 25 micrograms (equal in weight to a few grains of salt) is capable of producing vivid hallucinations.

Further reading here:
http://www.drugfreeworld.org/drugfacts/lsd/a-short-history.html

image

HEROIN

“Heroin cut me off from the rest of the world. My parents kicked me out. My friends and my brothers didn’t want to see me anymore. I was all alone.” —Suzanne

“From the day I started using, I never stopped. Within one week I had gone from snorting heroin to shooting it. Within one month I was addicted and going through all my money. I sold everything of value that I owned and eventually everything that my mother owned. Within one year, I had lost everything.

“I sold my car, lost my job, was kicked out of my mother’s house, was $25,000 in credit card debt, and living on the streets of Camden, New Jersey. I lied, I stole, I cheated.

“I was raped, beaten, mugged, robbed, arrested, homeless, sick and desperate. I knew that nobody could sustain a lifestyle like that very long and I knew that death was imminent. If anything, death was better than a life as a junkie.” —Alison

“Drugs equal death. If you do nothing to get out, you end up dying. To be a drug addict is to be imprisoned. In the beginning, you think drugs are your friend (they may seem to help you escape the things or feelings that bother you). But soon, you will find you get up in the morning thinking only about drugs.

“Your whole day is spent finding or taking drugs. You get high all afternoon. At night, you put yourself to sleep with heroin. And you live only for that. You are in a prison. You beat your head against a wall, nonstop, but you don’t get anywhere. In the end, your prison becomes your tomb.” —Sabrina

Further reading here:
http://www.drugfreeworld.org/real-life-stories/heroin.html

WHAT ARE THE FACTS ABOUT CRACK COCAINE AND CRYSTAL METH?

image

“It’s like watching those you love transform into beings beyond those in grotesque horror films. Satan is real and he takes over the.minds and lives of people that use drugs”.

Anonymous

Original articles:
http://www.drugfreeworld.org/drugfacts/crystalmeth.html

http://www.drugfreeworld.org/real-life-stories/crack-cocaine.html

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
